IEEE Robotics and Automation Society IEEE

ICRA Best Paper Award on Human-Robot Interaction (HRI) (sponsored by ABB)

About the Award

Description: This award recognizes the best paper on Human-Robot Interaction (HRI) presented at the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA).
Established: 2016
Prize: A single award of $1,000 to be shared by all authors and certificates for individual authors. If there are multiple authors of a winning paper, they will share the $1,000 prize equally. In the exceptional case that two papers are deemed worthy, the authors of each paper will share a $500 prize equally.
Funding: The award is sponsored by ABB for a period of 5 years (2016-2020). If funding becomes unavailable, the award will not be given.
Eligibility: All papers presented at the annual ICRA conference are eligible. There are no restrictions as to IEEE membership, organization, nationality, race, creed, sex, or age. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations. Authors of human-robot interaction papers are encouraged to include "human-robot interaction (HRI)" in their keyword list to help the ICRA Awards Committee identify papers to consider for the award. The ICRA Conference Editorial Board is also encouraged to include HRI as a keyword option.
Basis for Judging: A selection committee will be appointed by the ICRA Awards Committee with members who have appropriate expertise in the field of human-robot interaction. Papers are judged based on technical merit, originality, relevance to human-robot interaction, potential impact on the field, clarity of the written paper, and quality of the conference presentation.
Presentation: The award will be announced and presented at the annual IEEE ICRA conference.


 Winners of this Award


Hyo Seung Han, Junwoo Park, Tien Dat Nguyen, Uikyum Kim, Canh Toan Nguyen, Hoa Phung, Hyouk Ryeol Choi
"A Highly Sensitive Dual Mode Tactile Proximity Sensor Using Carbon Microcoils for Robotic Applications"

ICRA Best Automation Paper

About the Award

Description: To encourage research in Automation by annually recognizing the Best Automation Paper at the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA) systems that operate autonomously in predictable environments over extended periods, or the explicit structuring of such environments
Established: 1997
Prize: $1,000 and Certificate. If two papers are deemed worthy, they will share the award equally
Funding: Funded by the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA)
Eligibility: Papers accepted to and presented at the ICRA conference
Basis for Judging: Factors that will be considered are originality, depth, quality, presentation, and significance as related to automation, emphasizing efficiency, productivity, quality, and reliability, focusing on systems that operate autonomously in predictable environments over extended periods, or the explicit structuring of such environments
Presentation: Announced and presented at the annual IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation. No award will be given if no qualified candidate is identified.

Winners of this Award

Samuel Lensgraf, Ramgopal Mettu
"Beyond Layers: A 3D-Aware Toolpath Algorithm for Fused Filament Fabrication"

Bassem Dahroug, Guillaume J. Laurent, Valérian Guelpa, Nadine Le Fort-Piat
"Design, Modeling and Control of a Modular Contactless Wafer Handling System"

Ian O'Hara, James Paulos, Jay Davey, Nick Eckenstein, Neel Doshi, Tarik Tosun, Jonathan Greco, Jungwon Seo, Matt Turpin, Vijay Kumar, Mark Yim
"Self-Assembly of a Swarm of Autonomous Boats into Floating Structures"

Hao Tieng, Haw-Ching Yang, Min-Hsiung Hung, Fan-Tien Cheng
"A Novel Virtual Metrology Scheme for Predicting Machining Precision of Machine Tools"

Andreas Stolt, Magnus Linderoth, Anders Robertsson, Rolf Johansson
"Force Controlled Robotic Assembly without a Force Sensor"

Zhe Lu, Xuping Zhang, Clement Leung, Navid Esfandiari, Robert F. Casper, Yu Sun
"Automated Cell Manipulation: Robotic ICSI"

Daniel Cunningham, Harry Asada
"Continuous Path Tracing by a Cable-Suspended, Under-Actuated Robot: The Winch-Bot"

Felix Beyeley, Simon Muntwyler, Bradley E. Nelson
"Design and Calibration of a Microfabricated 6-Axis Force-Torque Sensor for Microbotic Applications"