Nominations Committee

On or before January 31 of each year, the President shall appoint, with the prior approval of the Administrative Committee (AdCom), a Nominations Committee consisting of five Society members. The Junior Past-President will chair this committee, and at least one other member must be an AdCom member. The members of the Advisory Committee of past presidents serve as ex officio members of the Nominations Committee.

In accordance with the procedures specified in Article II, Section 1 of the Bylaws, the Nominations Committee is charged with overseeing:

  • Nominations for the AdCom election
  • Nominations for Society officer positions

The Nominations Committee is responsible for ensuring that all required information about nominees for AdCom and Society officer positions is communicated in a timely fashion to IEEE.

The Nominations Committee is also responsible for submitting:

  • Nominations for Divisional Director to the IEEE Divisional Nominations Committee
  • A list of potential candidates to serve on various Institute Committees and Boards to the IEEE Nominations and Appointments Committee


Chair (Junior Past President)

Wolfram Burgard portrait
Wolfram Burgard
Chair- Junior Past President
University of Freiburg
Freiburg, Germany


Antonio Bicchi portrait
Antonio Bicchi
University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy
IIT Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Genova, Italy
Maria Pia Fanti portrait
Maria Pia Fanti
Polytechnic of Bari
Bari, Italy
Bill Hamel portrait
Bill Hamel
University of Tennessee
Knoxville (TN), United States
Dong-Soo Kwon portrait
Dong-Soo Kwon
Korean Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)
Daejeon, South Korea
Tony Maciejewski portrait
Tony Maciejewski
Colorado State University
Fort Collins (CO), USA

RAS President

Seth Hutchinson portrait
Seth Hutchinson
Georgia Tech
Atlanta (GA), USA

Easy Links