2015 IEEE RAS Fellow Class Announced

Congratulations to the following RAS Members - elevated to Fellow grade, effective 1 January 2015!


2015 RAS Fellows evaluated by the IEEE Robotics & Automation Society:


Wolfram Burgard
University of Freiburg, Germany
"for contributions to mobile robot navigation and simultaneous localization and mapping"

Howie Choset
Carnegie Mellon University (PA), USA
"for contributions to the design, control and planning of highly-articulated robots"

Henrik Christensen
Georgia Institute of Technology (GA), USA
"for contributions to estimation methods for robot localization and mapping"

Dieter Fox
University of Washington (WA), USA
"for contributions to Bayesian state estimation and robotic perception"

Sylvain Martel
Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal (QC), Canada
"for contributions to medical micro- and nano-robotics"

Jean-Pierre Merlet
Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et Automatique (INRIA), France
"for contributions to parallel robots"

Paul Newman
University of Oxford, United Kingdom
"for contributions to robot navigation"

Moshe Shoham
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
"for contributions to robot manipulators and miniature medical robots"

Stefano Stramigioli
University of Twente, The Netherlands
"for contributions to modeling, control and realization of complex robotics systems"

Yu Sun
University of Toronto, (ON), Canada
"for contributions to automated manipulation of biological cells"

Dong Sun
City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
"for contributions to robot-aided manipulation of biological cells"

Xiaolan Xie
Ecole Nationale Superieure, France
"for contributions to systems engineering for healthcare and manufacturing"


2015 RAS Fellows evaluated by other IEEE Societies:


Evaluated by the IEEE Computer Society:
Dan Halperin
Tel Aviv University, Israel
"for contributions to robust geometric algorithms for robotics and automation"

Evaluated by the IEEE Control Systems Society:
Randal Beard
Brigham Young University (UT), USA
"for contributions to the theory and practice of guidance, control, and team coordination of unmanned aerial vehicles"

Evaluated by the IEEE Control Systems Society:
Spiridon Reveliotis
Georgia Institute of Technology (GA), USA
"for contributions to discrete event systems for resource allocation"

Evaluated by the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society:
Kiyoshi Ohishi
Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan
"for contributions to development of fast and robust motion control systems"

Evaluated by the IEEE Sensors Council:
Weileun Fang

National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
"for contributions to measurement methods and process technologies for micro-electro-mechanical systems"

Evaluated by the IEEE Signal Processing Society:
Robert Safranek
Benevue, Inc. (NJ), USA
"for contributions to perceptual image and video compression and quality"

posted 26 November 2014



Easy Links