2018 RAS Award Recipients Announced!

The IEEE Robotics & Automation Society recognizes and congratulates the following individuals for their outstanding accomplishments and service to RAS and the robotics and automation community. They will be honored during an award luncheon to be held during the IEEE International Conference on Robotics & Automation (ICRA 2018) on 24 May 2018 at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Venue, Brisbane, Australia. Please join us in congratulating these outstanding recipients!


RAS Pioneer Award

Vijay Kumar - University of Pennsylvania (PA), United States
"For pioneering work on the theory and practice of cooperative robotics and networked unmanned aerial vehicles"

Daniela Rus - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), United States
"For pioneering work in the science and design of distributed and self-reconfiguring robotic systems"

RAS George Saridis Leadership Award in Robotics and Automation

Antonio Bicchi  - University of Pisa and IIT Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy
"For his leadership in the robotics and automation community through research innovation, technology transfer, education and professional development"

Bill Hamel - University of Tennessee (TN), United States
"For continued leadership that has significantly contributed to the growth and development of robotics in hazardous environments and to the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society"

IEEE RAS Distinguished Service Award

Torsten Kröger - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
"For his broad and creative contributions to conference, technical, and industrial activities of RAS"

Frank C. Park - Seoul National University, South Korea
"For his dedication and notable contributions to RAS publications and governance"

Early Academic Career Award in Robotics and Automation

Jens Kober - Delft University of Technology (TU Delft), The Netherlands
"For fundamental contributions to learning and application of versatile motor skills in robotics"

Julie Shah - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), United States
"For contributions to human-robot collaboration and transition of results to real world applications"

Early Government or Industry Career Award in Robotics and Automation

Alexander Kernbaum - SRI International (CA), United States
"For his work on robotic actuation and the invention of new transmission mechanisms"

RAS Most Active Technical Committee Award

Technical Committee on Multi-Robot Systems
Co-Chairs: Nora Ayanian, Robert Fitch, Antonio Franchi, Lorenzo Sabattini

RAS Chapter of the Year Award

IEEE Connecticut Robotics and Automation Chapter - United States
Co-Chairs: Biao Zhang, Haoyu Wang

Easy Links