2024 IEEE RAS Award Recipients Announced!

The IEEE Robotics and Automation Society recognizes and congratulates the following individuals for their outstanding accomplishments and service to RAS and the robotics and automation community. They will be honored during an award ceremony, to be held during the IEEE International Conference on Robotics & Automation (ICRA 2024) in May. Please join us in congratulating these outstanding recipients!

RAS Pioneer Award

Mark R. Cutkosky - Stanford University (CA), USA
“for contributions to Robot Design: from Bioinspiration to Biounderstanding”

Bruno Siciliano - University of Naples Federico II, Italy
“For fundamental contributions to robotics research in the areas of manipulation and control, human–robot cooperation, and service robotics”

RAS George Saridis Leadership Award in Robotics and Automation

Jaydev P. Desai - Georgia Institute of Technology (GA), USA
“For Foundational Research in Medical Robotics and Swarm Robotics and Service in Society Management”

IEEE RAS Distinguished Service Award

Venkat N. Krovi - Clemson University (SC), USA
“In recognition of his distinguished leadership, outstanding service, and innovative contributions to IEEE RAS Conferences and Technical Activities”

Marcia O'Malley - Rice University (TX), USA
“For outstanding service as Editor-in-Chief of the RAS Conference Editorial Board and various contributions to the haptics community”

Early Academic Career Award in Robotics and Automation

Pulkit Agrawal - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MA), USA
“For pioneering contributions to self-supervised robot learning and advancing sensorimotor control for contact-rich, dynamic, and dexterous tasks”

Roberto Calandra - Technical University of Dresden
“For contributions to touch sensing, processing, and their application to manipulation”

Josie Hughes - EPFL, Switzerland
“Fundamental contributions to soft robot design and embodied intelligence”

Lerrel Pinto - New York University (NY), USA
“For pioneering contributions in self-supervised robot learning”

Jiangfan Yu - Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, China
“For his contribution to the understanding, adaptive control and translational biomedicine of micro-/nanorobot swarms”

Early Government or Industry Career Award in Robotics and Automation

Andy Zeng - Google DeepMind, USA
“For outstanding contributions to robot learning, with applications in vision and language for manipulation”

IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation Most Influential Paper Award

Auke Ijspeert, Stefan Schaal, Jun Nakanishi
“Movement imitation with nonlinear dynamical systems in humanoid robots”
Proceedings of the 2002 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation

RAS Chapter of the Year Award

Jordan IEEE Robotics and Automation Society Chapter
Chair: Mohammad Salah

RAS Student Chapter of the Year Award

IEEE Robotics and Automation Society Student Branch Chapter Tafila Technical University, Jordan
Chair: Hamza Albzour
Co-chair: Abdulqader Dada

Easy Links