Congratulations to the 2015 RAS Award Recipients!

The IEEE Robotics & Automation Society recognizes the following individuals for their outstanding accomplishments and service to RAS and the robotics and automation community. They will be honored during an award luncheon to be held at ICRA 2015, on 28 May at the Washington State Convention & Trade Center in Seattle, WA, USA. Please join us in congratulating these outstanding recipients!

RAS Pioneer Award
Daniel E. Whitney - Massachusetts Institute of Technology, (MA) USA
"For his fundamental pioneering contributions to robotic assembly and its integration into product development"

RAS George Saridis Leadership Award in Robotics and Automation
Bruno Siciliano - University of Naples Federico II, Italy
"For his outstanding leadership in the robotics and automation community as a research innovator, an inspired educator, a dedicated contributor of professional service, an ambassador of science and technology"

IEEE RAS Distinguished Service Award
Ren Luo - National Taiwan University, Taiwan
"In recognition of his outstanding leadership and distinguished contributions to RAS on administrative committees, publications, and conferences"
Lynne E. Parker - University of Tennessee, (TN) USA
"For her work as Editor-in-Chief of RAS Conference Editorial Board, her service on many RAS committees, and her contributions to RAS conferences"

RAS Early Career Award (Academic)
Sami Haddadin - Leibniz University of Hanover, Germany
"For fundamental contributions to robot safety, physical Human-Robot Interaction, and soft-robotics control"
Robert J. Webster III - Vanderbilt University, (TN) USA
"For innovations in the design, modeling, and control of flexible minimally invasive surgical robots"

RAS Early Career Award (Industry/Government)
Leila Takayama - Google[x], (CA) USA
"For bringing empirical social science research into the development of personal and telepresence robotics"

IEEE Inaba Technical Award for Innovation Leading to Production
Hermano Igo Krebs - Massachusetts Institute of Technology, (MA) USA
"For contributions to medical technology innovation and translation into commercial applications for Rehabilitation Robotics"

IEEE Robotics and Automation Award for Product Innovation
HandInScan Ltd. 
"In recognition of "Hand-in-Scan" which allows objective evaluation of hand hygiene"

RAS Most Active Technical Committee Award
Technical Committee on Haptics
Chairs: Antonio Frisoli, William Provancher, Jee-Hwan Ryu

RAS Chapter of the Year Award
IEEE RAS Egypt Chapter
Chair: Alaa Khamis

posted 20 January 2015



Easy Links