RAS 2020 Award Recipients Announced!

RAS Pioneer Award

Dieter Fox - University of Washington and NVidia (WA), United States
"For pioneering contributions to probabilistic state estimation, RGB-D perception, machine learning in robotics, and bridging academic and industrial robotics research"

Lydia Kavraki – Rice University (TX), United States
"For pioneering contributions to the invention of randomized motion planning algorithms and probabilistic roadmaps"

RAS George Saridis Leadership Award in Robotics and Automation

Peter Corke - Queensland University of Technology, Australia
"For foundational research on robot vision and for leadership and innovation in robotics education"

John Hollerbach - University of Utah (UT), United States
"For foundational research on robot calibration and leadership and service in publications, conferences, and society management"

Lynne Parker - University of Tennessee (TN) and the Office of Science and Technology Policy, The White House, United States
"For foundational research in multi-robot systems and leadership in RAS conferences and US national AI policy"

IEEE RAS Distinguished Service Award

Eugenio Guglielmelli - Università Campus Bio-Medico di Roma, Italy
"For leadership in RAS conferences and publications including the establishment of the IEEE Transactions on Medical Robotics and Bionics"

Kevin Lynch – Northwestern University (IL), United States
"For leadership, service, and innovations in society publications, conferences, and governance"

Early Academic Career Award in Robotics and Automation

Eric Diller - University of Toronto, Canada
"For contributions to magnetic wireless micro-scale robots"

Alberto Rodriguez - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MA), United States
"For contributions to dexterous robot manipulation"

Early Government or Industry Career Award in Robotics and Automation

Aleksandra Faust - Google Brain Robotics, United States
"For contributions to the integration of machine learning with robot motion planning and control"

IEEE Robotics and Automation Award for Product Innovation

Fetch Robotics 
Joe Lau
"For innovations in the VirtualConveyor line of cloud-based autonomous mobile robots for material handling and transport."

RAS Most Active Technical Committee Award

Technical Committee on Sustainable Production Automation
Co-Chairs: Andrea Matta and Ying (Gina) Tang

RAS Chapter of the Year Award

RAS ULT SB Private University of Tunis ULT - Tunisia
Co-Chairs: Cherif Mhamdi and Belhaj Khalil

Easy Links