RAS seeks Senior Advisors for the Young Reviewers Program (YRP)

As the IROS2017 submission deadline is on the horizon, please consider participating as a Senior Advisor in the Young Reviewers Program (YRP) of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (RAS).

Young Reviewers Program

The Young Reviewers Program  is intended to introduce young RAS members to the best practices in peer-reviewing of scientific papers, crucial for viability of any scientific communities, yet, systematic training for that is typically not provided. As a Senior Reviewer, you can give reviewing assignments to Junior Reviewers, and to oversee the review process in a mentor-mentee relationship. Accepting to serve will not increase the number of papers that you review. Only papers that you have already accepted to review (for IROS 2017) would be eligible for the YRP. In this way, we believe that there will be no net increase in your reviewing workload. The time you would normally spend writing a careful review would be invested instead in cultivating skills in a Junior Reviewer.

As a Senior Reviewer, you can contact a Junior Reviewer found from the YRP website here: https://parasol.tamu.edu/ieee/ras-yrp/
Assign to the Junior Reviewer one IROS paper that you have been asked to review and then work with the Junior Reviewer to perfect the review, which you will submit via PaperPlaza.

You may also ask competent members of your research group to join the YRP as Junior Reviewers and elect to work with them. Typically, a Junior Reviewer would be a doctoral graduate student or a post-doc, whereas a Senior Advisor would be the one who can be an academic advisor or a research supervisor of those Junior Reviewers. Reviewer applications will be evaluated by the YRP Chairs listed below.

Details of Eligibility and Procedure

Please join and sign up to the YRP website: https://parasol.tamu.edu/ieee/ras-yrp

YRP Chairs

Arash Ajoudani (IEEE-RAS YRP Executive Manager - arash.ajoudani@iit.it)
Dongjun Lee (IEEE-RAS YRP Executive Manager - djlee@snu.ac.kr)
Seth Hutchinson (IEEE-RAS YRP Director - seth@illinois.edu)

YRP Advisory Board

Marco Morales (IEEE-RAS YRP Website Manager)
Nancy Amato (IEEE-RAS Chair of EPSB)
Jing Xiao (IEEE-RAS Vice President for Member Activities)

Easy Links