IEEE ICRA Best Paper Award in Service Robotics (sponsored by KUKA)

About the Award

Description: This award recognizes the best paper in Service Robotics presented at the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA).
Established: 2008
Prize: A single award of $1,000 to be shared by all authors and certificates for individual authors. If there are multiple authors of a winning paper, they will share the $1,000 prize equally. In the exceptional case that two papers are deemed worthy, the authors of each paper will share a $500 prize equally.
Funding: The award is sponsored by KUKA Roboter GmbH for a period of 5 years (2015-2019). If funding becomes unavailable, the award will not be given. 
Eligibility: All papers presented at the annual ICRA conference are eligible. There are no restrictions as to organization, nationality, race, creed, sex, or age. There is no requirement for IEEE membership. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations. Authors of service robotics papers are encouraged to include keywords related to service robotics in their keyword list to help the ICRA Awards Committee identify papers to consider for the award.
Basis for Judging: A selection committee will be appointed by the ICRA Awards Committee with members who have appropriate expertise in the field of service robotics. Papers are judged based on technical merit, originality, relevance and potential impact on the service robotics field, clarity of the written paper, and quality of the conference presentation.
Presentation: The award will be announced and presented at the same annual IEEE ICRA conference.

Winners of this Award

Woojong Kim, Hyunkyu Park and Jung Kim
"Compact Flat Fabric Pneumatic Artificial Muscle (ffPAM) for Soft Wearable Robotic Devices"

Stewart Jamieson, Jonathan Patrick How and Yogesh Girdhar
"Active Reward Learning for Co-Robotic Vision Based Exploration in Bandwidth Limited Environments"

Fouad Sukkar, Graeme Best, Chanyeol Yoo, and Robert Fitch
"Multi-Robot Region-of-Interest Reconstruction with Dec-MCTS"

Aleksandra Faust, Oscar Alejandro Ramirez, Marek Fiser, Kenneth Oslund, Anthony Francis, James Davidson, Lydia Tapia
"PRM-RL: Long-range Robotic Navigation Tasks by Combining Reinforcement Learning and Sampling-based Planning"

Masahiro Nakajima, Yuki Ayamura, Masaru Takeuchi, Naoki Hisamoto, Strahil Pastuhov, Yasuhisa Hasegawa, Toshio Fukuda, Qiang Huang
"High-Precision Microinjection of Microbeads into C. Elegans Trapped in a Suction Microchannel"

Award Not Presented

Michael Beetz, Ferenc Balint-Benczedi, Nico Blodow, Daniel Nyga, Thiemo Wiedemeyer, Zoltan-Csaba Marton
"RoboSherlock: Unstructured Information Processing for Robot Perception"

Andreas Doumanoglou, Andreas Kargakos, Tae-Kyun Kim, Sotiris Malassiotis
"Autonomous Active Recognition and Unfolding of Clothes Using Random Decision Forests and Probabilistic Planning"

Victor Manuel Hernandez Bennetts, Achim J. Lilienthal, Ali Abdul Khaliq, Victor Pomareda Sesé, Marco Trincavelli
"Towards Real-World Gas Distribution Mapping and Leak Localization Using a Mobile Robot with 3D and Remote Gas Sensing Capabilities"

Hideyuki Tsukagoshi, Yotaro Mori, Ato Kitagawa
"Fast Accessible Rescue Device by Using a Flexible Sliding Actuator"

Qinan Li, Weidong Chen, Jingchuan Wang
"Shared Control for Human-Wheelchair Cooperation"

Paul Timothy Furgale, Timothy Barfoot
"Service: Visual Path Following on a Manifold in Unstructured Three-Dimensional Terrain"

Sam Haddadin, Alin Abu Schaeffer, Mirko Frommberger, Gerd Hirzinger, Juergen Rossmann
"The 'DLR Crash Report': Towards a Standard Crash Testing Protocol for Robot Safety' --Part 1: Results"

Riccardo Schiavi, Giorgio Grioli, Soumen Sen, Antonio Bicchi
"VSA-II: A Novel Prototype of Variable Stiffness Actuator for Safe and Performing Robots Interacting with Humans"

Easy Links