IEEE ICRA Best Paper Award in Cognitive Robotics (sponsored by KROS)

About the Award

Description: This award recognizes the best paper in Cognitive Robotics presented at the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA).
Established: 2010
Prize: A single award of $1,000 to be shared by all authors and certificates for individual authors. If there are multiple authors of a winning paper, they will share the $1,000 prize equally. In the exceptional case that two papers are deemed worthy, the authors of each paper will share a $500 prize equally.
Funding: The award is sponsored by the Korea Robotics Society for a period of 20 years (2015-2034). If funding becomes unavailable, the award will not be given. 
Eligibility: All papers presented at the annual ICRA conference are eligible. There are no restrictions as to organization, nationality, race, creed, sex, or age. There is no requirement for IEEE membership. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations. Authors of cognitive robotics papers are encouraged to include keywords related to cognitive robotics in their keyword list to help the ICRA Awards Committee identify papers to consider for the award.
Basis for Judging: A selection committee will be appointed by the ICRA Awards Committee with members who have appropriate expertise in the field of cognitive robotics. Papers are judged based on technical merit, originality, relevance and potential impact on the cognitive robotics field, clarity of the written paper, and quality of the conference presentation.
Presentation: The award will be announced and presented at the same annual IEEE ICRA conference.

Winners of this Award

Namiko Saito, Tetsuya Ogata, Satoshi Funabashi, Hiroki Mori and Shigeki Sugano
"How to Select and Use Tools?: Active Perception of Target Objects Using Multimodal Deep Learning"

Zhen Zeng, Adrian Röfer and Odest Chadwicke Jenkins
"Semantic Linking Maps for Active Visual Object Search"

Keliang He, Andrew Wells, Lydia Kavraki, and Moshe Vardi
"Efficient Symbolic Reactive Synthesis for Finite-Horizon Tasks"

Anirudh Vemula, Katharina Muelling, Jean Oh
"Social Attention: Modeling Attention in Human Crowds"

Beomjoon Kim, Leslie Kaelbling, Tomas Lozano-Perez
"Learning to Guide Task and Motion Planning Using Score-Space Representation"

Award Not Presented

Abdeslam Boularias, Felix Duvallet, Jean Oh, Anthony Stentz
"Grounding Spatial Relations for Outdoor Robot Navigation"

Marc Peter Deisenroth, Peter Englert, Jan Peters, Dieter Fox
"Multi-Task Policy Search for Robotics"

Vivian Chu, Ian McMahon, Lorenzo Riano, Craig G. McDonald, Qin He, Jorge Martinez Perez-Tejada, Michael Arrigo, Naomi Fitter, John C. Nappo, Trevor Darrell, Katherine J. Kuchenbecker
"Using Robotic Exploratory Procedures to Learn the Meaning of Haptic Adjectives"

Moritz Tenorth, Alexander Perzylo, Reinhard Lafrenz and Michael Beetz
"The RoboEarth Language: Representing and Exchanging Knowledge about Actions, Objects, and Environments"

H Grollman, and Aude Billard
"Donut as I do: Learning from failed demonstrations"

Guy Hoffman, Gil Weinberg
"Gesture-Based Human-Robot Jazz Improvisation"

Easy Links