IEEE Robotics and Automation Technical Field Award (TFA)

About the Award

Description: The award is presented for contributions in the field of robotics and automation. It can be presented to an individual or team of up to three in number. The contributions can include but are not limited to: manufacturing automation, robotics and automation in unstructured environments, sensor design, integration and fusion, robot design, modeling, planning and control, methodologies for robotics and automation, and the quality of the nomination.
Established: 2002
Prize: Bronze medal, certificate and $10,000 honorarium
Funding: IEEE Robotics and Automation Society
Eligibility: Any person may be nominated for a TFA or may nominate a candidate, regardless of IEEE member status. Certain exceptions, to avoid conflict of interest or multiple awards for the same work are stated in the award guidelines
Basis for Judging: IEEE Technical Field Awards Council
Presentation: Presented by the President or member of the Board of Directors of IEEE at an IEEE-RAS sponsored conference

Nomination form:

Winners of this Award

Wolfram Burgard
“For contributions to the fundamentals and applications of robot navigation and perception”

Tomas Lozano-Perez and Jean-Claude Latombe
“For foundational contributions to robot motion planning and visionary leadership of the field”

Vijay Kumar 
“For contributions to cooperative robotics; networked mobile manipulation systems, particularly unmanned aerial vehicles; and leadership in robotics research, policy, and education”

Zexiang Li and and Tao Wang 
“For contributions to the development and commercialization of civilian drones, aerial imaging technology, robotics engineering advancement, innovation, and entrepreneurship”

Matthew T. Mason
"For Scientific and educational contributions to the mechanics of manipulation enabling real-world robot autonomy, and for leadership in robotics"

Oussama Khatib
"For contributions to the development of robot control and human-centered and humanoid robotics, and leadership in the robotics community"

Raffaello D'Andrea
"For pioneering contributions to design and implementation of distributed, cooperative robotics and automation systems for commercial applications"

Rodney Allen Brooks

"For pioneering contributions to and leadership in research and commercialization of autonomous robotics, spanning mobile, humanoid, service, and manufacturing robotics"

Shigeo Hirose
"For contributions to the design and construction of multiple nonconventional robotic systems such as snakelike, quadruped walking, wall climbing, and swarm robots"

Ruzena Bajcsy
"For contributions to computer vision, the active perception paradigm, and medical robotics"

Bernard Roth
"For fundamental contributions to robot kinematics, manipulation, and design"

Hirochika Inoue
"For original and continuous contributions to research in intelligent robotics, in particular to real-time vision and humanoid robotics"

Toshio Fukuda
"For leadership and pioneering contributions to Intelligent Robotic Systems and Micro and Nano Robotic Systems"

Antal Bejczy
"For leadership and sustained contributions to a broad set of innovative robotic and automation techniques applicable to space research and on Earth"

Paul G. Backes, Eric T. Baumgartner, Larry H. Matthies
"For contributions to robotics enabling effective autonomous operations of science investigations under extreme conditions on the planet Mars"

Gerhard Hirzinger
"For contributions in robot mechatronics, telerobotics, man-machine interface research, and space robotics"

George Bekey
"For contributions to research and education in biologically inspired and intelligent robots"

Seiuemon Inaba
"For long-standing leadership and technical contributions to the development of Numerical Control machines, industrial robots, and flexible factory automation"

Joseph Engelberger
"For a lifetime of achievement in establishing and advancing the field of robotics and automation worldwide"

Easy Links