IEEE Transactions on Haptics Best Paper Award

About the Award

Description: To recognize the best paper of the IEEE Transactions on Haptics (ToH) published in the previous calendar year.
Established: 2017
Prize: A single award of $1,000 to be shared by all authors and certificates for individual authors. If there are multiple authors of a winning paper, they will share the $1,000 prize equally. In the exceptional case that two papers are deemed worthy, the authors of each paper will share a $500 prize equally.
Funding: Funded by the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society. 
Eligibility: Authorship or co-authorship of all papers published in the IEEE Transactions on Haptics in the previous calendar year. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations. Recipient(s) need not be members of the IEEE or RAS.
Basis for Judging: The ToH Senior Editorial Board selects the final candidate papers, and the EiC makes the final selection of the winning paper. Scientific and technological excellence will be the unique criterion for judging the papers.
Presentation: In the calendar year following publication of the paper at either the biennial World Haptics Conference or the IEEE Haptics Symposium which takes place in the intervening year.

Winners of the Award

Yongjae Yoo, Inwook Hwang, and Seungmoon Choi
“Perceived Intensity Model of Dual-Frequency Superimposed Vibration: Pythagorean Sum” 
vol. 15, no. 2, pp. 405-415, 2022

Mitsuru Nakajima, Keisuke Hasegawa, Yasutoshi Makino, Hiroyuki Shinoda
"Spatiotemporal Pinpoint Cooling Sensation Produced by Ultrasound-Driven Mist Vaporization on Skin"
vol. 14, no. 4, pp. 874-884, 2021

Bharat Dandu, Irene A. Kuling, and Yon Visell
“Proprioceptive Localization of the Fingers: Coarse, Biased, and Context-Sensitive” 
vol. 13, no. 2, pp. 259-269, 2020

Charlotte M. Reed, Hong Z. Tan, Zachary D. Perez, E. Courtenay Wilson; Frederico M. Severgnini, Jaehong Jung, Juan S. Martinez, Yang Jiao, Ali Israr, Frances Lau, Keith Klumb, Robert Turcott, and Freddy Abnousi
“A Phonemic-Based Tactile Display for Speech Communication” 
vol. 12, no. 1, pp. 2–17, 2019

Jocelyn Monnoyer, Emmanuelle Diaz, Christophe Bourdin and Michael Wiertlewski
"Perception of Ultrasonic Switches Involves Large Discontinuity of the Mechanical Impedance”
vol. 11, no. 4, pp. 579-589, 2018

Séréna Bochereau, Brygida Dzidek, Michael Adams, Vincent Hayward
"Characterizing and Imaging Gross and Real Finger Contacts under Dynamic Loading"
vol. 10, no. 4, pp. 456-465, 2017

Easy Links