IEEE RAS Early Career Award

About the Award

Description: This award is bestowed on individuals in the early stage of their career, who have made an identifiable contribution or contributions which have had a major impact on the robotics and/or automation fields. Two awards are presented, the RAS Early Career Award - Academic and the RAS Early Career Award - Industry or Government.
Established: 1999
Prize: $1000 (as of 2008), Plaque and Certificate
Funding: Funded by the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society
Eligibility: Any current member of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society who is in the early stage of his/her career in the robotics and/or automation field, i.e., less than 7 years after being granted his or her highest earned academic degree. (This period is defined as the time between the date on the nominee's diploma and the close of nominations for the award.)
Basis for Judging:
1) Current and potential impact of the submitted contribution or contributions on the fields of robotics and/or automation 
2) Contributions to the Society and the profession 
3) Educational contributions 
Nominations for the award will be solicited by the Awards Committee; a nomination may be made by someone familiar with the individual's work. Three references will be required. The nominator and the references must be Society members. Scoring by the Awards Committee will be on a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being the highest; the overall score for a nominee will be obtained by summing the scores determined by each Committee member for that nominee; awardees will be those nominees receiving the top scores in each of the two categories; the Committee may modify the scoring method.
Presentation: At the annual IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA), usually held in April or May.

Nomination form:

Winners of this Award


No recipient this year

Conor Walsh
"For contributions to soft robotics and wearable technology for rehabilitation"
Sertac Karaman
"For contributions to motion planning and control algorithms for robots and autonomous vehicles"

Ioan A. Sucan
"For contributions to open source software for robot motion planning"

Dmitry Berenson
"For contributions to the theory and implementation of robot motion planning and manipulation"
Ludovic Righetti
"For contributions to the theory of, and experiments in, robot locomotion and manipulation"

Leila Takayama
"For bringing empirical social science research into the development of personal and telepresence robotics"

Sami Haddadin
"For fundamental contributions to robot safety, physical Human-Robot Interaction, and soft-robotics control"
Robert J. Webster III 
"For innovations in the design, modeling, and control of flexible minimally invasive surgical robots"

Torsten Kroeger
"For his scientific contributions to online trajectory generation and sensor-based motion control of robot systems widely used in industry and academia"

Kyu Jin Cho
"Fundamental contributions to soft robotics and biologically inspired robot design"
Davide Scaramuzza
"For his major contributions to robot vision and visually-guided micro aerial vehicles"

Matei Ciocarlie
"For major contributions to robotic manipulation research, released as open-source and widely adopted and used in both academia and industry"
Radu B. Rusu
"For contributions to creating and leading an open source ecosystem that fosters technology transfer in 3D perception between academia and industry"

Jan Peters
"For the development of new robot learning approaches, architectures and methods and their application to anthropomorphic robots"
Cyrill Stachniss
"For his contributions to mobile robot exploration and simultaneous localization and mapping"


Rainer Bischoff
"For leadership and outstanding contributions to the cooperation of academia and industry, and for managing and promoting significant technology transfer in the area of industrial and service robotics"

Pieter Abbeel
"For contributions to apprenticeship learning and deformable object manipulation, and their application to autonomous helicopter flight and surgical and personal robotics"
Katherine Kuchenbecker
"For contributions to haptic interfaces and touch perception for robotic and telerobotic systems"

Lianqing Liu
"For contributions to the development of high efficiency nanorobotics and nanomanipulation systems"
Hisataka Maruyama
"For contributions to micro-nano robotic manipulation and sensing technologies for cell analysis and biological applications"

Yu Sun
"For contributions to enabling microrobotic and MEMS technologies for automated cell manipulation and characterization in cell biology and clinical applications"
Leandro Barajas
"For pioneering the use of diagnostics and prognostics research in large-scale industrial robotics and automation applications"

Nicholas Roy
"For fundamental contributions to planning, machine learning and the development of indoor unmanned air vehicle flight"
Jun Ueda
"For fundamental contributions to robust control of robot dynamics including time-delayed telerobotics, flexible robots, cellular actuator devices, and rehabilitation robots"

Nicola Tomatis
"For major contributions in bridging mobile robotics research to real world business applications, for promoting robotics on European and international levels, and for contributions to the Expo-02 and Nesbot Projects"

Michael Montemerlo
"For fundamental contributions to perception, SLAM, motion planning and navigation; and technical leadership on the 2005 DARPA Grand Challenge winning and 2007 DARPA Urban Challenge second place teams"
Tao Zhang
"For leadership and research contributions ot automation science and engineering in the areas of parts handling and semiconductor manufacturing"

Danica Kragic 
"For contributions to Visually Guided Manipulation"
Ralf Koeppe
"For outstanding contributions to the design and control of a lightweight robot for industrial applications"

Jingshan Li
"For his significant contribution to the technical field of automation science and engineering, in such areas as modeling and analysis of manufacturing systems, performance evaluation and bottleneck id"
Warren Dixon
"For his remarkable achievements at his career stage, including impressive publication record, building a solid robotics program and attracting substantial funding, being selected to receive the National Science Foundation Career Award, receiving the ORNL Early Career Award, and for his innovative research in the areas of nonlinear control design for robotic systems, and of visual servo control"

Ayanna Howard
"For contributions to soft-computing techniques for robot reasoning and learning in space applications"

Yoky Matsuoka
"For contributions to the design of new robotic devices that facilitate neuromuscular assistance, learning, and rehabilitation"
Allison Okamura
"For contributions to the design and control of haptic devices and to teleoperated and needle-based robot-assisted surgery"

Paolo Pirjanian
"For contributions to mobile robots and commercially practical robots and vision systems"

Karl Bohringer
"For contributions to physical geometric algorithms and MEMS, with applications to self-assembly and part manipulation"
Katsu Yamane
"For development of algorithms and software for the dynamics of general and complex kinematic chains and their applications to humanoid robotics and computer graphics"

Mingjun Zhang
"For contributions to micro/nano-scale life science automation"

Lydia Kavraki

Kevin Lynch

Fumihito Arai

Maja Mataric

1999 - Academic
Ning Xi

Easy Links