Research Proposals

In September 2022, the TCH awarded research grants to young researchers to carry out research in the field of haptics.

These grants were awarded to young researchers at the postdoc and Ph.D. student position levels to foster curiosity from applicants to explore new ideas in their research project that otherwise will be left unexplored. Below are the award recipients and their project titles: 

  • Abigail Nolin (University of Delaware, USA), Fingertip contact mechanics on smooth, chemically-modified interfaces to control fine touch
  • Anika Kao (University of Virgina, USA), Comparing states of skin deformation, and perceptual equivalence, between con-contact airflow and mechanical contact stimuli
  • Muge Cavdan (Giessen University, Germany), Do you perceive what you feel?: Affective influences on perceived roughness
  • Olivia Leslie (University College Dublin, Ireland), A tactile sensing array with side-sensing for collision detection and grasp exploration
  • Ori Fartook (Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel), Drones as emotional support technology: using Haptics to create first contacts
  • Robert Kirchener (TU Dresden, Germany), Rendering strategies for plausible affective haptics
  • Sandeep Kollannur (University of Southern California, USA), Toolkits for haptic harness
  • Slyvia Tan (Northwestern University, USA), Development of soft, wearable haptic pucks
  • Thomas Daunizeau (Sorbonne University, France), On the evolutionary role of emotional sweating in gripping

We received 28 proposals, and through a rigorous peer review process were able to award nine top proposals, granting $2,000 USD to each. 

We thank the evaluation committee:

  • Yasemin Vardar, TCH co-chair (TU Delft, The Netherlands)
  • Claudio Pacchierotti, TCH emeritus co-chair (CNRS, France)
  • Rebecca Fenton Friesen (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Cara M. Nunez (Harvard University, USA)
  • Dangxiao Wang (Beihang University, China)
  • Yitian Shao (TU Dresden, Germany)
  • Guhnyuk Park (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, South Korea)

 We are looking forward to seeing the fruits of these efforts soon!