Davide Scaramuzza to Receive the 2024 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award

The IEEE Robotics and Automation Society is most pleased to announce that Davide Scaramuzza has been selected as the recipient of the prestigious 2024 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award. Professor Scaramuzza was selected “for contributions to agile visual navigation of micro drones and low-latency robust perception with event cameras.” Pro­fessor Scaramuzza will receive the award at the 2024 International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA), which will be held in Yokohama, Japan from 13-17 May 2024.

Davide Scaramuzza

Davide Scaramuzza is an international authority in the field of robotics, specifically in agile visual navigation for micro drones and robust perception using event cameras on low-latency systems. His research has been instrumental in enhancing the autonomy, agility, decision-making, and safety capabilities of modern flying robots and autonomous systems. He pioneered autonomous, vision-based navigation of drones, which inspired the navigation algorithm of the NASA Mars helicopter. And, in 2022, his team demonstrated that an AI-controlled, vision-based drone could outperform the world champions of drone racing. His work at the intersection of traditional robotics theory and visual navigation techniques has translated to innovative commercial products that have real-world impact and generate new value for society.

An IEEE Senior Member, Scaramuzza is Professor and Director of the Robotics and Perception Group, University of Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland.

About the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award

The IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award is sponsored by the late Dr. Kiyo Tomiyasu, the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, and the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society. It was established in 2001 to recognize outstanding early to mid-career contributions to technologies holding the promise of innovative applications. Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

More information and a list of past recipients can be found here.

Easy Links