Pioneer in Robotics and Automation Award

About the Award

Description:To recognize individuals who by virtue of initiating new areas of research, development or engineering, have had a significant impact on development of the robotics and/or automation fields. The award is intended for people who are in the mid or late portions of their careers
Established: 1998
Prize:$2,000 (as of 2008), a plaque and a certificate. Up to two awards will be given each year, and no award will be given if no qualified candidate is identified
Funding:Funded by the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society
Eligibility:Any person active in the fields of robotics and/or automation, whether or not they are members of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society, are eligible for the award. Members of the Society who have worked as part of a team will also be eligible, provided their contributions can be clearly identified by the Awards Committee
Basis for Judging:Factors include: the pioneering nature of the contribution, whether academic or industrial; the impact or the accumulated impact of the candidate's contribution or contributions on the fields of robotics and/or automation
Presentation:Annually, at the International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA), which is normally held in the mid-April to mid-May period

Nomination form: 

Winners of this Award


Mark R. Cutkosky
"For contributions to Robot Design: from Bioinspiration to Biounderstanding"
Bruno Siciliano
"For fundamental contributions to robotics research in the areas of manipulation and control, human–robot cooperation, and service robotics"


Tsuneo Yoshikawa
"For pioneering contributions to the understanding of the kinematics, dynamics, and control of complex robotic systems, including haptics and teleoperations"
Haruhiko Harry Asada
"For pioneering contributions to robotics and automation in grasp stability and fixturing, direct-drive, skill transfer, and wearable systems"


Marc Raibert
"For pioneering contributions to the field of dynamic legged locomotion"
Ken Salisbury
"For pioneering contributions to the field of robot mechanics, mechanism design and surgical manipulation"

Neville Hogan
"For seminal contributions in formulating methods for the control of robot manipulation based on human movement and dynamic interaction principles"
Yoshihiko Nakamura
"For pioneering contributions to the foundations of optimization and computation for large-DOF mechanisms and their application to human neuromuscular analysis"

Dieter Fox
"For pioneering contributions to probabilistic state estimation, RGB-D perception, machine learning in robotics, and bridging academic and industrial robotics research"
Lydia Kavraki
"For pioneering contributions to the invention of randomized motion planning algorithms and probabilistic roadmaps"

Bradley J. Nelson
"In recognition of outstanding contributions in micro and nano robotics"
Roland Siegwart
"For fundamental pioneering contributions to Robotics Research in the areas of autonomous navigation and design of flying and walking robots"

Vijay Kumar
"For pioneering work on the theory and practice of cooperative robotics and networked unmanned aerial vehicles"
Daniela Rus
"For pioneering work in the science and design of distributed and self-reconfiguring robotic systems"

Paolo Dario
"For pioneering the emerging area of BioRobotics, the science and engineering of integrating robotics with biology and medicine"

Daniel Koditschek
"For his seminal contributions to the mathematical and empirical foundations of robotics, leadership in robotics research, inspired mentorship of the next generation of roboticists"

Daniel E. Whitney
"For his fundamental pioneering contributions to robotic assembly and its integration into product development"

Award Not Presented

Raja Chatila
"For fundamental pioneering contributions to robotics research in the areas of navigation and control, or visionary leadership, and for life-long commitment to the field"
Peter Luh
"For pioneering contributions to the development of near-optimal and efficient planning, scheduling, and coordination methodologies for manufacturing and power systems"

Jean-Claude Latombe
"For pioneering contributions to robot motion planning and the application of robotics methods to computational biology and medicine"

Tomas Lozano-Perez
"For pioneering work in configuration space motion planning, robotics and automation algorithms, and computational structural biology"
Mark Spong
"For fundamental contributions to the foundations of control of robots and teleoperators, and for contributions to robotics education"

Ruzena Bajcsy
"For fundamental pioneering contributions to robotics research in the areas of perception-action systems, telepresence, and active perception, for visionary leadership, and for life-long commitment to the field"
Oussama Khatib
"For fundamental pioneering contributions to robotics research in the areas of mechanisms, dynamics, and control, for visionary leadership, and for life-long commitment to the field"

Matthew Mason
"For pioneering contributions to the fundamental understanding of the mechanics of robotic manipulation and to graduate education in robotics"

Russell Taylor
For pioneering work in medical robotics and in the theory and practice of programmable sensor-based robot systems"
Aristides Requicha
For pioneering contributions to research and education in solid modeling and programmable automation at the macro and nano scales"

Steve Jacobsen
"In recognition of outstanding contributions to the design and control of leading edge robots and other animate machines"
Takeo Kanade
"In recognition of outstanding contributions to the fields of computer vision, manipulation, autonomous mobile robots and medical robotics"

Suguru Arimoto
"For his work on PD and PID control, iterative learning control, and passivity-based control of nonlinear mechanical systems, that represents a source of reference for virtually any scientists dealing with complex systems"

Gerhard Hirzinger
"For his pioneering research in mechatronic devices, teleoperation, articulated hands, and lightweight robots, and his leadership in space robotics programs in Europe"
Hirochika Inoue
"For his life long commitment to innovation and excellence in robotics research in Japan and in the world"

Antal Bejczy
"For seminal technical contributions to robotics and teleoperation, and pioneering research in space robotics and Human-Robot interfaces"
Toshio Fukuda
"For pioneer contributions to the development of cellular/distributed robotics systems and micro/nano robotic systems"

Georges Giralt - "For his contributions in Robot Autonomy and Intelligence and for his pioneering robotics research in France"
Tzyh-Jong Tarn - "For his technical contributions in developing and implementing nonlinear feedback control concepts for robotics and automation"

George Bekey
"For leadership in the development of biologically inspired robotic systems, including walking machines, multifingered hands, and multiple robot systems"

J Luh
"For the development of Newton-Euler equations of motion in a recursive consideration in real-time computer control since the computational complexity is linearly proportional to the number of joints of the robot. The impact of the Newton-Euler formulation of robot dynamics opened up new perspective for robotics research in kinematics, dynamics and control, such as robot motion control, flexible and redundant robot control, path planning, collision avoidance, control of robots having closed-kinematics-chain linkages, multi-robot control systems, etc"
Richard "Lou" Paul

Bernie Roth
"In recognition of his work in robot kinematics"

Shigeo Hirose
"For contributions in the theory and practice of mobile robotics"


Easy Links