2022 IEEE Robotics and Automation Technical Field Award recipient announced!

Heartfelt congratulations to Wolfram Burgard, selected recipient of the prestigious 2022 IEEE Robotics and Automation Award "for contributions to the fundamentals and applications of robot navigation and perception." He will receive this award during the 2022 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA) in Philadelphia, (PA) USA on 23-27 May 2022.

wolfram burgard small

A pioneer of robust and adaptive techniques for robot perception, navigation, and manipulation, Wolfram Burgard has addressed the most relevant challenges facing autonomous mobile robotics applications ranging from vacuum cleaners to self-driving cars. Burgard led the original contributions pertaining to simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) and robot learning, resulting in algorithms including the grid-based FastSLAM. His g2o tool is one of the most efficient solvers for SLAM issues facing autonomous systems. He developed several robots that operated robustly in challenging real-world environments, including Rhino and Minerva, which acted as interactive museum tour guides; Obelix, which autonomously navigated like a pedestrian through the city of Freiburg, Germany; and a self-driving car that could navigate through a complex parking garage and park itself.

An IEEE Fellow, Burgard is a professor with the Department of Computer Science at the University of Freiburg, Baden, Wurttemberg, Germany.


More About the IEEE Robotics and Automation Technical Field Award

RA TFA medal

The IEEE Robotics and Automation Technical Field Award was established in 2002 by the IEEE Board of Directors, and is presented for contributions in the field of robotics and automation. It includes but is not limited to: manufacturing automation; robotics and automation in unstructured environments; sensor design; integration and fusion; robot design; modeling; planning and control; methodologies for robotics and automation, and the quality of the nomination. This Award is sponsored by the IEEE Robotics & Automation Society.

Past Recipients can be found HERE

Easy Links