Congratulations to the RAS Publications Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2023 RAS Publications Award Winners for T-RO, T-ASE, RA-L, RA-M, and ToH! More on the RAS Publications Awards, including a list of current and past winners, can be found here.


IEEE Transactions on Robotics King-Sun Fu Memorial Best Paper Award

Yulun Tian, Yun Chang, Fernando Herrera Arias, Carlos Nieto-Granda, Jonathan P. How, and Luca Carlone

"Kimera-Multi: Robust, Distributed, Dense Metric-Semantic SLAM for Multi-Robot Systems"

vol. 38, no. 4, pp. 2022-2038, August 2022


IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering Best Paper Award

Chen Hou and Qianchuan Zhao

“Optimal Control of Wireless Powered Edge Computing System for Balance Between Computation Rate and Energy Harvested”

vol. 20, no. 2, pp. 1108-1124, 2023


IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering Best New Application Paper Award (Sponsored by Googol Technology Ltd)

Jiawei Meng, Yuanchang Liu, Richard Bucknall, Weihong Guo, and Ze Ji

“Anisotropic GPMP2: A Fast Continuous-Time Gaussian Processes Based Motion Planner for Unmanned Surface Vehicles in Environments With Ocean Currents”

vol. 19, no. 4, pp. 3914-3931, 2022


IEEE Robotics and Automation Letters Best Paper Award

Karl Van Wyk, Mandy Xie, Anqi Li, Muhammad Asif Rana, Buck Babich, Bryan Peele, Qian Wan, Iretiayo Akinola, Balakumar Sundaralingam, Dieter Fox, Byron Boots, and Nathan D. Ratliff

"Geometric Fabrics: Generalizing Classical Mechanics to Capture the Physics of Behavior"

vol. 7, no. 2, pp. 3202-3209, April 2022


Amy Kyungwon Han, Amar Hajj-Ahmad, and Mark R. Cutkosky

"Bimanual Handling of Deformable Objects With Hybrid Adhesion"

vol. 7, no. 2, pp. 5497-5503, April 2022


Oier Mee, Lukas Hermann, Erick Rosete-Beas, and Wolfram Burgard

"CALVIN: A Benchmark for Language-Conditioned Policy Learning for Long-Horizon Robot Manipulation Tasks"

vol. 7, no. 3, pp. 7327-7334, July 2022


Minho Oh, Euigon Jung, Hyungtae Lim, Wonho Song, Sumin Hu, Eunchang Mason Lee, Junghee Park, Jaekyung Kim, Jangwoo Lee, and Hyun Myung

"TRAVEL: Traversable Ground and Above-Ground Object Segmentation Using Graph Representation of 3D LiDAR Scans"

vol. 7, no. 3, pp. 7255-7262, July 2022


Hwayeong Jeong, Jirou Feng, and Jung Kim

"2.5D Laser-Cutting-Based Customized Fabrication of Long-Term Wearable Textile sEMG Sensor: From Design to Intention Recognition"

vol. 7, no. 4, pp. 10367-10374, October 2022


IEEE Robotics and Automation Magazine Best Paper Award

Tony G. Chen, Abhishek Cauligi, Srinivasan A. Suresh, Marco Pavone, and Mark R. Cutkosky

“Testing Gecko-Inspired Adhesives With Astrobee Aboard the International Space Station: Readying the Technology for Space”

vol. 29, no. 3, pp. 24-133, September 2022


IEEE Transactions on Haptics Best Paper Award

Yongjae Yoo, Inwook Hwang, and Seungmoon Choi

“Perceived Intensity Model of Dual-Frequency Superimposed Vibration: Pythagorean Sum” 

vol. 15, no. 2, pp. 405-415, 2022


IEEE Transactions on Haptics Best Application Paper Award (Sponsored by Alps Electric Co.)

Yuki Abe, Yu Someya, Mitsuhiko Shimomura, Task Ohmori, Seki Inoue, Masahiro Fujiwara, Yasutoshi Makino, and Hiroyuki Shinoda

"Remote Friction Reduction on Polystyrene Foam Surface by Focused Airborne Ultrasound"

vol. 15, no. 2, pp. 363-371, 2022


IEEE Robotics and Automation Letters Distinguished Service Award

Outstanding Associate Editor

Matteo Bianchi, University of Pisa, Italy

Georgia Chalvatzaki, TU Darmstadt, Germany

Hamidreza Kasaei, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Kasra Khosoussi, MIT, USA

Hyun-Jung Kim, KAIST, South Korea

Amy LaViers, The RAD Lab, USA

Vesna Novak, University of Cincinnati, USA

Pierre-Brice Wieber, INRIA Grenoble, France

Damiano Zanotto, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA

Zhuoran Zhang, CUHK, China


Outstanding Reviewer

Quentin Boehler, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Yunteng Cao, MIT, USA

Simone Fani, University of Pisa, Italy

Kenji Koide, AIST, Japan

Guoyuan Li, NTNU, Norway

Xiaomin Liu, Beihua University, China

Khadiv Majid, Max Planck Institute, Germany

Guanqiao Shan, University of Toronto, Canada

Yulun Tian, MIT, USA

Jun Zhang, NTU, Singapore

Easy Links