ICRA Steering Committee


The ICRA Steering Committee Chair reports to the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (RAS) Vice-President of the Conference Activities Board (VP CAB) or his/her designee. The ICRA Steering Committee is a sub-committee of IEEE RAS Conference Activities Board (CAB).

Purpose of the Steering Committee

The ICRA Steering Committee oversees the long-term planning and success of current instances of the IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA); plans for future editions in the series of ICRA conferences; evaluates how well each ICRA has achieved its objectives; and proposes and implements improvements to continuously meet these objectives.

The ICRA Steering Committee is responsible for the general oversight and long-term goals for ICRA. It is normally responsible for making strategic decisions, providing guidance, oversight, and support for the Organizing Committees of ICRA. Among its duties, it is responsible for the pre-selection of ICRA dates and locations; determining the major theme of ICRA; coordination amongst partner IEEE or Non-IEEE societies; creation or approval of any ICRA-specific policies; enforcement of IEEE and RAS conference policies; and reviewing the budget.

The ICRA Steering Committee selects a set of candidate teams and sites of future editions of ICRA, and presents these to the IEEE RAS Administrative Committee (AdCom). AdCom chooses the conference site and organizing team from among these candidates by voting.


George Pappas  portrait placeholder
George Pappas



Serena Ivaldi portrait
Serena Ivaldi
INRIA Nancy Grand-Est
Villers-lès-Nancy, France


Antonio Bicchi portrait
Antonio Bicchi
University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy
IIT Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Genova, Italy
I-Ming Chen portrait
I-Ming Chen
Nanyang Technological University
Nanyang, Singapore
Jaydev Desai portrait
Jaydev Desai
Georgia Institute of Technology
Atlanta (GA), USA
Maria Pia Fanti portrait
Maria Pia Fanti
Polytechnic of Bari
Bari, Italy
Venkat Krovi portrait
Venkat Krovi
Clemson University
Clemson (SC), USA
Yoshihiko Nakamura portrait
Yoshihiko Nakamura
University of Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan
Marcia K.  O'Malley portrait
Marcia K. O'Malley
Rice University
Houston (TX), USA
Jim Ostrowski  portrait placeholder
Jim Ostrowski
Nikos Papanikoloupolos  portrait placeholder
Nikos Papanikoloupolos
Michael Yu Wang portrait
Michael Yu Wang
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST)
Clear Water Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Eiichi  Yoshida portrait
Eiichi Yoshida
Tokyo University of Science
Tokyo, Japan